Epipad
Stimulate the brain
Reduce seizures
Brain
Individual Stimulation
Clinical Effectiveness
median reduction of seizures of 52% after 6 months
53,13% Responder Rate
Electrode
Innovative Design
Epicranial Application of Stimulation Electrodes for Epilepsy

About EASEE®

Medication alone often does not help!

The typical treatment methods for epilepsy are medications. Yet, many patients with epilepsy do not benefit sufficiently from anti-epileptic drugs. When a patient has further epileptic episodes despite treatment with two effective anti-epileptic agents for the respective type of seizure or epilepsy, specialists refer to this as ‘drug-resistant epilepsy’.

With EASEE® I have gained new freedoms. I can finally move forward and push my limits.
Ibrahim Soyudoga, 2020
Ibrahim Soyudoga
Your life is what motivates us
Imagine being able to work just like that! Engaging in sports activities just like that! To be able to have fun just like that!

Focused cortical stimulation is a new world-first procedure that represents an innovative approach for treating epileptic seizures and favourably affecting the course of the disease for patients with inoperable forms of focal epilepsy. EASEE® imposes virtually no external limitations on your daily life. You can engage in sports, work and all leisure activities – and all of this is possible with EASEE® without having to give up the security provided by brain stimulation.

EASEE® Family
Icon
1 of 3
Epilepsy patients is refractory to therapy
EASEE®: For therapy-refractory focal epilepsies
EASEE® offers a highly reversible option when resection isn`t one.
  • Simple, low-risk procedure
  • The head bone remains unopened
  • The stimulation can't be felt
  • Not visible to others from the outside
  • Everyday movements remain untroubled
Keyvisual EASEE®
Centers of Excellence

The EASEE® system is appropriate for treating many people with focal epilepsies. The EASEE® system is not yet available on the market, but full approval for adult patients is anticipated in the near future.

The following epilepsy centres already have experience using EASEE® or are familiar with the data from clinical studies, so you may consult with them to see whether EASEE® might be considered a possible treatment option in your case. Children and adolescents may be eligible to participate in a study to be launched in the autumn of 2022.

Find center of excellence

How does EASEE® work?

Technology

EASEE® sends electrical impulses to the location in the brain where the epileptic seizures originate. It stabilises the brain without touching it.

Placement of the EASEE® device
EASEE® can be placed individually for all clearly defined neocortical foci.

By means of a minor surgical procedure performed under general anaesthesia, the wafer-thin electrode pad is implanted under the skin of the scalp. During the same procedure, the pulse generator is implanted in the chest area and connected to the electrode pad with a cable.

Find center of excellence
EASEE® Electrode front
EASEE® Electrode back
Thickness EASEE® Electrode
Size EASEE® Electrode
Electrode in detail:
Technical innovation
The innovative electrode design enables a deep and focused stimulation of the brain – without ever touching it.

A so-called Laplace electrode generates fields and current flows perpendicular to the electrode pad. In the EASEE® System, the external ring-shaped electrode is replaced by four individual electrodes in order to adapt the direction of the resultant electrical field to spatially varying resistances. In this way, significant current flows can be achieved on the surface of the brain as well as a penetration depth comparable to that of more invasive procedures.

Human acupuncture points model
Stimulation with EASEE® is a pioneering procedure that employs subcutaneous electrodes that are situated outside the cranium.
Precisely treat cortical epilepsy foci individually.
  • Effective seizure control
  • High-frequency pulses to interrupt emerging seizures
  • DC-like pulses for neuromodulation
  • Electrodes not visible from the outside
Scientific Publications

Where is EASEE® implanted?

Our studies

The EASEE® system was tested for safety and effectiveness in adult patients with focal epilepsy in several European study centers. Two of the clinical studies, started in 2019 and 2020, are still ongoing to continuously document long-term effects. However, no more patients can be admitted because the recruitment phase has already been completed. Results and data from the clinical studies are published.

Anja Resler, responsible for clinical affairs, talks about the positive effects of EASEE in clinical studies
Anja Resler, Clinical Affairs
Pre-clinical and clinical studies with EASEE®
20162018201920212022EASEEAnimalEASEEIIEASEElbPre-clinical phaseClinical phaseLine extensionPIMIDES IEASEE4YOUAssessment of interictal activityAssessment of biocompatibilityAssessment of performance and safetyAssessment of responsive neurostimulationAssessment of clinical outcome in kids 12-17y
Study for children and adolescents

Following the positive clinical results in studies of the EASEE® System in adults, the Precisis team, in collaboration with five paediatric neurology centres in Germany, is planning a clinical study for children and adolescents. Listed in what follows, you will find the names of the participating epilepsy centres. If your child has treatment-resistant focal epilepsy and is 12 years of age or older, you may consider a professional consultation to determine whether your child is eligible to enrol in the study.

Study for adults

The EASEE® System is appropriate for people with focal epilepsy in whom medications are no longer effective or not sufficiently effective. Currently, the EASEE® System is in the clinical trials phase and not yet available on the open market.


The effects of EASEE®

Responders-100-75-50-25255075100*0% seizure frequency reduction in month 6 of simulation vs. baseline* Outlier with >100% increase in seizure frequency
Patients benefit from a reduction in seizures

In the adjoining figure, each bar represents one patient in the EASEE II and PIMIDES I studies. All bars that point to the left reflect a reduction in seizures. The four patients at the bottom experienced 100% seizure reduction; that is, they are now seizure-free. The upper bars that point to the right represent patients who did not benefit from EASEE®.

Key messages
  • 53% response rate (seizure reduction of at least 50%)
  • Very good tolerability
  • Stimulation is imperceptible
  • Electrodes are not externally visible
Median percent seizure reduction from baseline to stimulation in month 6RecoveryBaselineStimulationmonth 1Stimulationmonth 2Stimulationmonth 3Stimulationmonth 4Stimulationmonth 4Stimulationmonth 60-10-20-30-40-50-60
Time course
  • A median reduction of seizures of 52% after 6 months
  • The effect becomes greater over time
  • Four patients are consistently seizure-free

The Company behind EASEE®

Precisis GmbH

Precisis is a private medical technology company devoted to improving the lives of patients with brain disorders through innovative technology.

Production EASEE® Osypka
About us

The Precisis team develops novel bioelectronic treatment methods based on directing therapeutic currents to limited target areas of the brain. Based upon the unique needs of each patient, specific brain cells may thereby be activated or inhibited.

More information about us

+++ EASEE® jetzt CE zertifiziert und damit ab sofort einsatzbereit! +++
Epipad
Das Gehirn stimulieren
Die Anfälle reduzieren
Gehirn
Individuelle Stimulation
Klinische Wirksamkeit
52% mediane Anfallsreduktion im 6. Monat der Stimulation
53,13% Responder Rate
Elektrode
Innovatives Design
Epicranial Application of Stimulation Electrodes for Epilepsy

Über EASEE®

Medikation allein hilft oft nicht!

Die häufigste Behandlungsmethode für Epilepsie sind Medikamente. Doch es gibt viele PatientInnen mit Epilepsie, die nicht ausreichend von Antiepileptika profitieren. Kommt es trotz einer Behandlung mit zwei für die jeweilige Anfalls- bzw. Epilepsieform wirksamen Antiepileptika zu weiteren epileptischen Ereignissen, spricht man von einer sogenannten „medikamentenrefraktären Epilepsie“.

Mit EASEE® habe ich neue Freiheiten gewonnen. Endlich kann ich richtig Gas geben und an meine Grenzen gehen.
Ibrahim Soyudoga, März 2020
Ibrahim Soyudoga
Ihr Leben ist unsere Inspiration
Einfach so arbeiten! Einfach so Sport treiben! Einfach so feiern können!

Das weltweit neue Verfahren der fokussierten kortikalen Stimulation bietet einen neuen Ansatz, epileptische Anfälle zu behandeln und den Verlauf der Erkrankung bei fokalen, inoperablen Epilepsie-Formen günstig zu beeinflussen. Mit EASEE® gehen kaum äußere Einschränkungen im täglichen Leben einher. Sport treiben, Arbeiten oder auch feiern gehen – all das ist mit EASEE® möglich, ohne auf die Sicherheit der Stimulation verzichten zu müssen.

EASEE® Family
Icon
1 von 3
Epilepsie-Patienten ist therapierefraktär
EASEE®: Bei therapierefraktären fokalen Epilepsien
EASEE® bietet eine gut reversible Option, wenn eine Resektion nicht infrage kommt.
  • Einfache, risikoarme Prozedur
  • Der Kopfknochen bleibt ungeöffnet
  • Die Stimulation ist nicht spürbar
  • Von außen für Andere nicht sichtbar
  • Bewegungen im Alltag bleiben unbeschwert
Keyvisual EASEE®
Klinische Kompetenzzentren

Das EASEE® System eignet sich für manche Menschen mit fokalen Epilepsien. Seit dem 15. September 2022 ist das EASEE® System CE zertifiziert für Erwachsene mit therapierefraktären fokalen Epilepsien.

Die folgenden Epilepsiezentren haben bereits Erfahrungen mit EASEE® oder sie kennen die Daten aus den klinischen Studien, so dass Sie sich dort erkundigen können, ob EASEE® für Sie grundsätzlich infrage kommen kann. Kinder- und Jugendliche können an einer Studie teilnehmen, die im Herbst 2022 beginnt.

Kompetenzzentrum finden

Wie funktioniert EASEE®?

Technologie

EASEE® sendet elektrische Signale an den Ort im Gehirn, an dem epileptische Anfälle ihren Ursprung haben. Es stabilisiert das Gehirn, ohne es zu berühren.

Platzierung von EASEE®
EASEE® kann individuell platziert werden bei allen gut abgrenzbaren neokortikalen Herden.

Über einen kleinen Eingriff unter Vollnarkose wird die hauchdünne Elektrodenmatte unter die Kopfhaut implantiert. Im gleichen Eingriff wird auch der Impulsgeber im Brustbereich implantiert und über ein Kabel mit der Elektrodenmatte verbunden.

Kompetenzzentrum finden
EASEE® Elektrode von vorn
EASEE® Elektrode von hinten
Stärke EASEE® Elektrode
Größe EASEE® Elektrode
Elektrode im Detail:
Technische Innovation
Die innovative Elektroden-Anordnung ermöglicht eine tiefgehende und fokussierte Stimulation des Gehirns – ohne es zu berühren.

Durch eine sogenannte Laplace-Elektrode lassen sich Felder und Stromflüsse senkrecht zur Anordnungsebene erzeugen. Beim EASEE® System wird die äußere ringförmige Elektrode durch vier einzelne Elektroden ersetzt, um die Ausrichtung des entstehenden elektrischen Feldes an räumlich variierende Widerstände anzupassen. Dadurch können signifikante Stromflüsse an der Hirnoberfläche und eine vergleichbare Eindringtiefe wie bei invasiveren Verfahren erreicht werden.

Modell der menschlichen Akupunkturpunkte
Die Stimulation mit EASEE® ist ein zukunftsweisendes Verfahren, das subkutane Elektroden - außerhalb des Kopfknochens - verwendet.
Kortikal gelegene Epilepsieherde individuell präzise therapieren.
  • Wirksame Anfallskontrolle
  • Hochfrequenz-Pulse zur Unterbrechung aufkommender Anfälle
  • Gleichstrom-ähnliche Pulse für die Neuromodulation
  • Elektroden von außen nicht sichtbar
Wissenschaftliche Publikationen

Wo wird EASEE® implantiert?

Unsere Studien

In mehreren europäischen Studienzentren wurde das EASEE® System auf Sicherheit und Wirksamkeit bei erwachsenen Patienten mit fokaler Epilepsie getestet. Zwei der klinischen Studien, in den Jahren 2019 und 2020 begonnen wurden, laufen noch immer, um Langzeiteffekte kontinuierlich zu dokumentieren. Es können allerdings keine weiteren Patienten oder Patientinnen mehr aufgenommen werden, da die Rekrutierungsphase bereits abgeschlossen wurde. Ergebnisse und Daten aus den klinischen Studien werden publiziert.

Anja Resler, verantwortlich für die klinische Forschung, über positive Effekte von EASEE® in den klinischen Studien
Anja Resler, Klinische Forschung
Vorklinische und klinische Studien mit EASEE®
20162018201920212022EASEEAnimalEASEEIIEASEElbVorklinische PhaseKlinische PhaseLine extensionPIMIDES IEASEE4YOUBeurteilung interiktaler Aktivität Beurteilung der BiokompatibilitätBeurteilung der Leistung und SicherheitBeurteilung der responsiven NeurostimulationBeurteilung der Ergebnisse bei Kindern
Studie für Kinder & Jugendliche

Nachdem die Studien mit EASEE® an Erwachsenen erfreuliche klinische Ergebnisse zeigen, plant das Team der Precisis zusammen mit fünf neuropädiatrischen Zentren in Deutschland eine klinische Studie für Kinder und Jugendliche. Finden Sie hier die teilnehmenden Epilepsiezentren. Wenn Ihr Kind an einer therapierefraktären fokalen Epilepsie leidet, 12 Jahre oder älter ist, dann lohnt eine professionelle Abklärung, ob es in die Studie mitaufgenommen werden kann.

Studie für Erwachsene

Das EASEE® System eignet sich für Menschen mit fokaler Epilepsie, bei denen Medikamente nicht mehr oder nicht ausreichend helfen. Derzeit befindet sich das EASEE® System in der klinischen Prüfung und ist noch nicht auf dem Markt erhältlich.


Effekte von EASEE®

Responders-100-75-50-25255075100*0% seizure frequency reduction in month 6 of simulation vs. baseline* Outlier with >100% increase in seizure frequency
Patienten profitieren durch Anfallsreduktion

In nebenstehendem Bild repräsentiert jeder Balken einen Patienten in den Studien EASEE II und PIMIDES I. Alle Balken, die nach links zeigen, stehen für Anfallsreduktion. Die vier unteren PatientenInnen haben eine Anfallsreduktion um 100% erlebt, das heißt, sie sind anfallsfrei. Die oberen Balken, die nach rechts zeigen, repräsentieren Patienten, die nicht von EASEE® profitieren konnten.

Kernaussagen
  • 53% Responder-Rate (Reduktion um mindestens 50%)
  • Sehr gute Verträglichkeit
  • Stimulation nicht wahrnehmbar
  • Elektroden von außen nicht sichtbar
Median percent seizure reduction from baseline to stimulation in month 6RecoveryBaselineStimulationmonth 1Stimulationmonth 2Stimulationmonth 3Stimulationmonth 4Stimulationmonth 4Stimulationmonth 60-10-20-30-40-50-60
Zeitlicher Verlauf
  • Im Median 52%-ige Reduktion der Anfälle nach 6 Monaten Stimulation
  • Effekt wird stärker über die Zeit
  • 4 PatientInnen stabil anfallsfrei

Das Unternehmen hinter EASEE®

Precisis GmbH

Die Precisis GmbH mit Sitz in Heidelberg ist auf die Entwicklung innovativer Medizingeräte spezialisiert. Die Precisis GmbH steht für herausragende Erfolge im Bereich der gerätegesteuerten Therapien für das Gehirn.

Produktion EASEE® Osypka
Über das Unternehmen

Das Team der Precisis entwickelt neuartige bioelektronische Behandlungsmethoden, die darauf beruhen, therapeutische Ströme in abgegrenzte Zielbereiche des Gehirns zu leiten. Je nach individueller Situation der Patienten können bestimmte Gehirnzellen dadurch aktiviert oder inhibiert werden.

Über Precisis
Newsletter Anmeldung

Neuigkeiten über Epilepsie direkt in Ihrem Postfach

Vielen Dank für Ihr Interesse
Wir haben Ihnen eine Bestätigungs-E-Mail geschickt, um Ihre E-Mail-Adresse zu verifizieren. Bitte öffnen Sie diese und bestätigen Sie über den darin enthaltenen Link, um unseren Newsletter zu erhalten.
Gern informieren wir Sie in regelmäßigen Abständen.
Ja, ich interessiere mich für EASEE® und möchte darüber per E-Mail informiert werden. Ich kann die Einwilligung jederzeit mit Wirkung für die Zukunft widerrufen.
Datenschutz
Wir verwenden Cookies und andere Technologien auf unserer Website. Einige von ihnen sind essenziell, während andere uns helfen, diese Website und Ihre Erfahrung zu verbessern. Weitere Informationen über die Verwendung Ihrer Daten finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.